Meet Kylie

Date of Birth: Jan 17, 1989

Hometown: Thornbury, ON

Occupation: Server/Heavy Industry Medic

Sponsors: Team Ski Bladezz, Jskis, RED Mountain

Accomplishments: 2 years on Freeride World Tour, Rookie of the year FWT 2017. 4th over all FWT 2017, 7th over all 2018

Bio: I Grew up in Thornbury Ontario, where my parents, avid skiers of the escarpment, started me skiing at 2. I started competing in moguls around 8, and competed for the Ontario ski team for five years, including three years on the NorAm circuit. At 21 I decided it was time to retire and go to school. That didn’t stick. My Friend convinced me to enter a Freeskiing event. The layed back vibe and the comradery between fellow competitors was unlike anything I had experienced, I was hooked. I “finished” school after second year, to take a year off to ski bum at Red. Following the natural progression of a Rosslander, I soon got a dog and stayed for 9 years… In this time I competed on the Freeride World Tour for two years, jumped off some cliffs and skied the deepest pow of my life, made some ginger-garlic-lemon-honey tea, and saw some real nice views.

How old were you when you started riding?

I started skiing when I was 2.

Who are your mentors/influencers?

Growing up in Ontario Mom, Dad, my sister, and I would hit the hill and meet up with grandma and grandad for (icy) turns at Osler Bluff. I suppose I have them to blame for getting me out there and hooked.
So many people and places have helped me stay hooked; the connection with nature and like minded people, the powder, the vistas, and the stoke from my friend-family out west and beyond.

Any Nicknames?

Kyski or Ky

What’s your favourite thing about RED?

Favorite thing about RED is the access to challenging terrain and the people who ski it with me.

What movie/video gets you most amped for the winter?

All the movies get me stoked, sometimes too stoked! I love to watch my friends shred and see their success in the ski industry blossom!

What’s your favorite run at RED?

Ooph, that’s tricky, you tryna know my secrets?

Do you listen to music when you shred? (what’s your go-to?)

Yes I do, usually something I find calming down tempo, if the terrain is good that is all the hype I need.

When not skiing/riding, what else do you like to do?

I LOVE to xc ski with my dog, we hit the bike trails and I call it XC-Xtreme, I find it a great recovery activity after a day on the slopes. In the summer I like to hike, bike, climb and relax near water somewhere.

What’s the best trick name?

The Dinner Roll!

Do you have any preseason rituals leading up to the winter?

Not really, I just bike, stretch and try to get fit enough to handle the terrain at RED Mountain.

If you could be any animal, what would it be?

Cat Wings. (anyone from the 90’s read that?)

What’s your favorite saying?

It’s all downhill from here.

Describe your perfect apres.

1. Sippin a cesar or IPA at Rafers
2. XC skiing to a cabin in the pass for potluck dinner with friends
3. Netflix and the couch

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Probably the hardest question on this page. I hope to be doing the things that bring me joy, and the hustle that allows me to do them.

Gallery of shred!